Sacred mouintains of China

In China there are several important mountains. From art, myth and literature we are mostly concerned with five Taoist Sacred Peaks and four Buddhist Sacred Peaks in China.

The 5 Taoist Sacred Mountains are:

1: HUASHAN (west) in Shaanxi (see pics below)

2: TAISHAN (east) in Shandong

3: HENGSHAN (south) in Hunan

4: HENGSHAN/WUTAISHAN (north) in Shanxi

5: SONGSHAN (centre) in Henan

The 4 Buddhist Sacred Mountains are:

1: JIUHUASHAN in Anhui

2: PU TUO in Zhejiang

3: EMEI in Sichuan

4: WUTAISHAN in Shanxi

Jan-Erik Nilsson

All information found on the web pages are for entertainment or educational purposes only. All expressed opinions are my personal, based on photos and the owners submitted descriptions, and are not to be used for any financial or commercial decisions. expressly disclaims all warranties of any kind. Submitted material gratefully appears on this website due to the implied or expressed consent of the rights owners. Copyright © Jan-Erik Nilsson, Gothenburg, Sweden 2001-2017

Original information submitted by Michaela Russel, Australia, to the gotheborgList.